pldt dsl with encore wireless ip camera

Discussion in 'PLDT DSL' started by crespo, Sep 3, 2008.

1. Hello, newbie here. Hoping someone can help me with my problem.

I recently bought an Encore Wireless IP Camera (ENVCWI-G1) from cdr-king. My plan was to install it at our shop and hopefully be able to view it from home using the internet. Both locations are connected using pldt dsl.

Tried testing the camera. It works fine when you view the camera using a web browser that is located at the same network as the camera. Problem occurs when i try viewing it outside the network (ie. someone else's internet connection). Browser just gives a "connection interrupted' message.

Also, I know that our pldt dsl accounts (Plan Xperience and Biz Explorer accounts) both uses dynamic IP addresses. So I tried using dyndns.com to host the camera. But the problem still persists.

Hope someone can help.

2. aki_21

aki_21 Member

hi, have you tried to use port forwarding? like... if your camera is registered as 192.168.0.100 (example) then set it ports to 9999 or anything that doesnt conflict, then on your router's NAT, when 53.xx.xx.xx tries to access this port 9999, the router will route that connection form WAN to the Designation IP address to the network in the port you gave.

eg.. WAN access yoursite.dyndns.org:9999 will redirect you to 192.168.1.100:9999

3. lordmight

lordmight Guest

do you asked your ISP or DSL biz provider?

4. I'm not entirely certain about this but you might need to have a Static IP for you to be able to view outside of a LAN connection.

5. aki_21

aki_21 Member

well problem about static is that you have to buy that IP address so that only you can have it.. and its prone to hackers.. so mind as well use dynamic IP..

some services like No-ip.com and DynDNS (which currently our modem/router supports it) has this function to address your dynamic into URL. so even you frequently change your ip (ISP side) you still can access your site or your workspace IP.